Meet your GIN Presidents

Originally published September 2004.

Graduates In Neuroscience is a social organization for neuroscience graduate students. This spring, we voted to extend the position of GIN president to a two year assignment. Cliff will continue for one more year and will be joined by Rebecca Rosen in the fall who will be taking over for Sara Dodson who has done a fantastic job. Here are a few things you might want to know about your GIN presidents.

_________________________

Cliff at Sweetwater Brewing Company
Cliff at Sweetwater Brewing Company

CLIFF MICHAELS

ccmicha@emory.edu

Where did you come from?

A small town in Eastern Pennsylvania called Nazareth. In fact its right next to Bethlehem (funny huh).

What inspired you to become GIN president?

I was home in PA last summer and I got a phone call telling me that I had been elected GIN president.

What is your favorite part of being GIN president?

Putting together the retreat. It is honestly one of my favorite things I’ve done since being in Atlanta, and I’m looking forward to planning another one. Also I figure its good practice for when I get my PhD and start an event planning business (haha).

Where do you work?

I just recently returned to the lab of Dr. Stephen Holtzman in pharmacology and am doing behavioral pharmacology on acute opioid dependence and withdrawal.

__________________________

REBECCA ROSEN

Rebecca with Duffman Ron Calabrese
Rebecca with Duffman Ron Calabrese

Where did you come from?

Miami, Florida

What inspired you to become GIN President?

Cliff and Sara make it seem like so much fun.

What sorts of things do you hope to see GIN do in the next two years?

I hope GIN will be a social network for all the neuro-kids to keep in touch as we drift off into our lab cubbyholes, especially after the first year of the program. We have a great program with great students and GIN should help us remember that.

Favorite ice cream flavor?

Hands down, dulce de leche (caramel for you gringos).

Is there anything else we should know about you?

Haha, now that I am elected, you want to know?

Leave a Reply

